What’s Cookin’?

Hello there! I’m sorry to say I don’t have a Wedding Wednesday planned for today, but I expect to be back with one very soon. I definitely won’t leave you hanging, though, so I’m here with another installment of What’s Cookin’?! And boy have things been cookin’ over here every chance I get.

I must admit I’ve been crushing on Asian flavors a lot lately. Like a lot a lot. I don’t know what it is–I guess Asian flavors are somewhat comfort food like for me. Plus, they’re an awesome way to create mega flavor and still keep things healthy. I may actually attempt to not cook something Asianish next week since it seems to be my new default and I should probably push the envelope a little more. But after looking over these recipes again I can’t make any promises…

Asian Pork Meatballs via Martha Stewart 

Asian Pork Meatballs served with brown rice and steamed broccoli

Asian pork meatballs served with brown rice and steamed broccoli

The original recipe calls for turkey, but I decided to give it a whirl with ground pork and it.was.awesome. While eating the meatballs Robert wanted to know how I got the meat so creamy. There’s nothing cream related involved, but the meatballs certainly have a kind of smoothness to them inside. I’m not exactly sure if “smooth” is an attractive way to describe meatballs so I’ll leave it at that and just say they’re great. Make them.

Roasted Salmon with Soy-Marmelade Glaze via Cooking Light 

Roasted salmon with soy-marmelade glazed, brown rice, and sauteed broccolini

Roasted salmon with soy-marmelade glaze, brown rice, and sauteed broccolini

This meal came after a very busy end to a very busy week last Friday. I met up with Robert after work to run errands at the Apple Store, Best Buy, and Binny’s to pick up some libations for the evening. (Boulevard wheat beer for him chilled white wine for me.) As we pulled into our apartment complex we noticed there was a pop up dog park happening across the street (in the park where we got engaged!) We grabbed both dogs, poured our cocktails into traveler mugs, and allowed the dogs to run their little hearts out while we sipped our drinks and shmoozed with neighbors. It was so fun and even though it was still pretty chilly outside it made me so excited for summer! There were also two adorable puppies that totally gave me puppy fever, but that’s another story. I got to work on this salmon as soon as we came back home. It was so easy to make and before I knew it we were enjoying a deliciously healthy and completely satisfying Friday night dinner.

Slow Cooker Thai Peanut Chicken Curry via Love at Home  

Slow coooker thai peanut chicken curry

Slow coooker thai peanut chicken curry served over brown rice (noticing a trend?)

Another winner I discovered on Pinterest! It’s a total toss in the slow cooker and wait 6 hours meal. If you’re ever craving Thai this is an awesome way to skip take out and get something even better with minimal effort. I followed the recipe as is except I subbed about 1 1/2 cups of frozen edamame for the peas (achem….someone in this household doesn’t like peas..) and I increased the coconut milk to about 3/4 cup because I love it so much. Don’t forget to top with cilantro and chopped peanuts! It totally makes the meal.

Leave a comment